ES | EN | CA

Hospital CIMA Barcelona


Rheumatology Unit

The Hospital Sanitas CIMA Rheumatology Unit offers high-level medical care for inflammatory (arthritis) and degenerative (arthrosis) t disease, widespread (fibromyalgia) and localised (neck pain, low back pain, tendinitis, etc.) pain in soft spots, as well as care for metabolic bone diseases such as osteoporosis and Paget's disease of bone.
It boasts all the diagnostic techniques, be they in-lab (antibodies, bone markers), specific (capillaroscopy, polarised light microscopy) or imaging methods, having developed pioneering techniques such as the rheumatological arthroscopy or the muscular biopsy for mitochondrial studies.



Its structure in units dedicated to specific conditions facilitates its approach with some established quality standards.

  • The Arthritis Unit deals with patients with early arthritis, rheumatoid arthritis and spondyloarthropathies, or other inflammatory t diseases, applying specific monitoring protocols in order to reduce or inactivate the inflammatory disease.
  • The Clinical Rheumatology Trials Unit, a leader in trials of new treatments of rheumatological diseases.
  • The Metabolic Bone Disease Unit deals with patients suffering from osteoporosis, Paget's disease of bone.and other bone diseases.
  • The Non-Malignant Chronic Pain Unit has a multidisciplinary programme for the assessment and treatment of fibromyalgia.

Back to the list of units

The IDIS awards the QH 3-star quality certification to Sanitas' La Zarzuela and La Moraleja university hospitals and to the Hospital Sanitas CIMA

This is the maximum level of this certification which had not previously been attained by any hospital. The recognition is the first common unit of measurement of care quality at ...

More information
The new Obstetrics and Neonatology Unit at the Hospital CIMA Barcelona has performed 100 births in its first month of operation

The company has made a total investment of 3,054,000 euros. It is equipped with a cutting-edge neonatal ICU with a breastfeeding area, three delivery rooms and a caesarean ...

More information